Gordon Bennet Thriller Series

Reviewed By Anelynde Smit for Readers’ Favorite

5 Stars – Congratulations on your 5-star review!

David M. Cameron delivers a heart-pounding thriller with Dead Men Don’t Snore. We follow Gordon Bennet, a man trying to salvage what is left of his life on holiday in Spain. Everything is going wonderfully, there are bars for beers and good food but one night will change the course of this trip and his life entirely. Being the witness to the murder of an innocent girl sends the wheels spinning, and he can’t stop them once they’ve been set in motion. Now a marked man, he relies on his knowledge as a former military man to try to escape the people who are aiming to kill him. However, things change when he meets a sweet waitress and is swept off his feet, but can love and hate exist in the same place? Can both exist within one man?

I personally loved this fast-paced novel by David M. Cameron. Dead Men Don’t Snore is a classic example of how to write a story that thrills you with every chapter. I loved the cliffhangers that kept you coming back for more. You were always wondering in the back of your mind who did this or that. It is a very short but exciting book to read. The Spanish used by the locals made this so much more authentic and relatable, but with very controlled use of it, and you never felt like a stranger reading it. The characters were intriguing and had a flavour that made you taste a bit of Spain yourself. David M. Cameron did a wonderful job with this novel.

Everyone told him he needed a holiday. His life had fallen apart around him. His marriage had failed, and he had been dishonourably discharged from the military. He needed to recharge his batteries and make a new start and a break on the Costa Blanca was the opportunity to re-set his life. Two weeks of relaxing, enjoying the sun, and having a few drinks was just what the doctor ordered. It started so well. How was he to know that this was the prelude to the vacation from hell? He soon becomes enmeshed in murder and intrigue, and meets a beautiful young woman.

Set in the idyllic town of Calpe in Southern Spain, this thriller introduces Gordon Bennet, ex-military, ex-mercenary, in a tale that is a rocket ride of thrills and tension. The brooding Ifach, the giant 332 metre rock that stands as a towering sentinel, forms the backdrop for this high action romp. Where rival crime forces battle for control, only a fool would stand in their way, and Gordon is such a man.

4.0 out of 5 stars 

An exciting start to a new action series

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 August 2021Verified Purchase

This new novel Dead Men Don’t Snore by David M Cameron, is set in Spain, at the heart of the Costa Blanca, within the region of Valencia.

Here lies the ancient fishing village of Calpe which has a central role in this story, and the imposing rock of Ifach, which dominates Calpe. Rising precipitously above the sea, it plays a significant role in the unfolding story of our flawed but plucky hero. Our unlikely hero, Gordon Bennet, embarks unwittingly on a two-week ‘vacation from hell’ which, entertainingly, and through many, often violent twists and turns, culminates in an exciting denouement. The story is gripping, the characters are interesting, the hero is flawed but determined and the setting is believable. enthusiastically recommend this novel and look forward to the next book in what I hope will be a recurring series.

A Trembling of Finches – Another Gordon Bennet Novel

After his dangerous holiday in Calpe, Gordon Bennet takes Gabriela to visit his home city in England. The Spanish beauty is looking forward to learning more about her enigmatic lover. From the moment they arrive at his home in Leeds, they become entwined in a web of murder, assassinations, and power struggles that take them to the edge and beyond. As if meeting Gordon’s ex-wife wasn’t stressful enough, Gabriela has to learn to drive on the other side of the road, deal with challenging Yorkshire folk, discover what toad-in-hole is, and take the fight to the powers set on destroying Gordon and herself. What hides behind the still waters of the lake? Who can be trusted? Just where will Gabriela draw the line to save her man? The twists and turns of the story lead the reader through the complexity of Gabriela dealing with her self-realisation and her demons.

Danger and deceit are everywhere in this white-knuckle thriller.